Board of Directors

The ADC’s guidance is provided by a Volunteer Board of Directors. Board members are chosen from the membership and serve a two year term.  The ADC By-Laws require that there be two Board members from each of the six core counties that ADC serves.  The other Board member is an ex-officio member designated by the Chairman of Appalachian Council of Governments. The Board is mostly comprised of directors with background and expertise in internal controls, financial risk management, commercial lending, legal issues relating to commercial lending, and corporate governance. The current Board members are:


President – Tom Britt, Greenville County – President, Bank of Travelers Rest

Vice President – R. Kemper Kenan, Greenville County – Senior Vice President, First South Bank

Secretary/Treasurer – Ralph Guarino, Pickens County – Finance Director, Pickens County

Kimberly Mode, Spartanburg County – Market President, United Community Bank

Bruce Gerrard, Anderson County – Technical Services Specialist for Duke Energy Carolinas

Jim Cook, Cherokee County – Executive Director, Cherokee County Development Board

Steve Pelissier, Ex Officio – Executive Director, SC Appalachian Council of Governments

Lamar Bailes, Oconee County – Retired Banker, Businessman, and former Mayor of Walhalla

Craig Brandon, Pickens County – Retired Business Owner

Dale Seay, Spartanburg County – Commercial Real Estate Agent with Spencer Hines Properties

Glenn Buddin, Market Executive with County Bank representing Anderson County